Board index

My Home Page

PilotOdyssey.com By hoser...


PilotOdyssey.com Chat Room

PilotOdyssey.com Photo Album

* Login   * Register * FAQ
http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/smiley_cool.png PilotOdyssey.com Chat    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/find.png PilotOdyssey.com Google Search    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_tongue.png FL400 Parts    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_grin.png FL350 Parts    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_evilgrin.png FL250 Parts    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_unhappy.png Admin Email    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_grin.png PilotOdyssey.com V2.0   
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:39 am
Posts: 3177
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
The Digatron manual reccomends that you place the tach probe at least 2 inches from the plug boot and also keep it away from the coil to reduce EMI(Electromagnetic interference). The tach probe is the 2" X 1/4" circuit board(you cant see the circuit board) wrapped in heat shrink. 3 wires come from the probe, one wire is the pick-up wire ,this wraps around the sparkplug wire at 1 or more inches from the plug boot, another wire goes to the Digatron LCD box. The last wire is the ground, simply ground to the Odyssey or kart chassis. There is a reason the probe is mounted at least 2 inches from the plug boot and I found out the hard way. My tach probe WAS mounted to the plug boot as installed by the previous owner. While doing plug chops I had an abnormal plug reading.So to find out which side of the cylinder the wierd reading was on, I had to slowly unscrew the plug keeping track of the revolutions, when I was looseing the plug from the head, I left the plug inside the boot. Well this loosened the little cap on the end of the sparkplug. I was not aware that the cap had come loose. So I hopped in the Odyssey for a spin, after a few minutes of riding I experienced a miss from the motor (( Internal Combustion Engine ? )), which sounded to me like it was coming from the ignition . The first time the motor (( Internal Combustion Engine ? )) missed, my tach quit working.Reason for tach failing..... the loose connection at the top of the sparkplug to plug-boot created a spark or arcing, this spark took path of least resistance to ground,which was the tach sensor probe. It fried the probe but I was able to repair. The transister ws shorted and one of the resistors were open. I have since relocated my tach probe as seen in pic.


Attachments:
P1000345.JPG
P1000345.JPG [ 465.06 KiB | Viewed 468 times ]
Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 2858
Location: Wichita ks
Nice job stixs. What did the replacments run you and were did you find them. Radio shack or what. You gotta teach me the arrow thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 1037
Location: CT
Not a great idea to run a spark plug wire in plastic loom. The plastic can cause static electricity and cause a misfire in time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:39 am
Posts: 3177
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Wow, interesting and good info kingXx, good thing I didnt run it in loom, heres another view. Unfortunatly I threw away the transistor package so I don't remember the part number but you can get the number off the transistor and cross the number here http://www.mouser.com/?utm_source=googl ... 0597805522 . Mouser is an electronics geek's, like me, candy store. In fact all the parts on the circuit board are easily inentified by thier numbers or color band. The arrows were a beginners feeble attempt at Microsoft Paint. I hacked some arrows and text, I don't know how but its readable 'I think".


Attachments:
P1000347.JPG
P1000347.JPG [ 1.25 MiB | Viewed 467 times ]
Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 796
Location: Bolton Ma
Nice find.

I have found the Digatron Engineers are good guys.

But, its always nice to open up and see standard parts.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Challenger 250, Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group