Board index

My Home Page

PilotOdyssey.com By hoser...


PilotOdyssey.com Chat Room

PilotOdyssey.com Photo Album

* Login   * Register * FAQ
http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/smiley_cool.png PilotOdyssey.com Chat    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/find.png PilotOdyssey.com Google Search    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_tongue.png FL400 Parts    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_grin.png FL350 Parts    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_evilgrin.png FL250 Parts    http://www.pilotodyssey.com/PO/adm/images/imagemenu/emoticon_unhappy.png Admin Email   
It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
I'm wondering what's needed to put an dual pre filter set up on an fl350 air box with the k&n pre filters


I'm wanting to get ride of my k&n set up


And go with an stock box with an pre filter set up


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:38 pm
Posts: 1434
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
This is the set up I did for my daughters 350 Ody.

I used 2" muffler tubing to build the prefilter. You can buy an 18" piece at Autozone for about 5 bucks. It will be expanded on both ends to so it would slip over another 2" piece. I used the expanded ends for the filter sides of the prefilter and the other end to slide the 2" shop vac hose over to connect to the air box. the 2" shop vac hose came from Home depot and was 20.00 for the kit. The K&n filters are part # RU 0620 and I bought the pair on feebay for 64.00 shipped.

Image

Image

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
Do u got more detaled photos on the box ?

I'm guessing 2 in" or 1 3/4 in" pvc coupler
How did u attach it in side the box ?

this the filter u bought ?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/K-N-RU-0620-OD- ... 3b&vxp=mtr" ."..


and i'm guessing the cover that fit them?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/K-N-RU-0520PK-B ... 257643d7e9


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:38 pm
Posts: 1434
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Here is tho only other i had from doing the box..
Image

yes those are the filters I used, I don't remember the part # on the covers, but I would not buy them again. I would just use some old pantyhose as Hoser suggested.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Posts: 2156
I did a basic job on one of mine like this. I have been running it for close to 10 years and really like it. I got both filters n covers from ebay real cheap. Basic plumbing PVC thru holes. I also sealed the original hole. I run a good Uni in the box. This cheap easy mod will really wake up an Engine with so much better air flow so be warned, REJET!

Gary


Attachments:
DSCF0192 (Medium).JPG
DSCF0192 (Medium).JPG [ 93.35 KiB | Viewed 574 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
Nuke Em wrote:
I did a basic job on one of mine like this. I have been running it for close to 10 years and really like it. I got both filters n covers from ebay real cheap. Basic plumbing PVC thru holes. I also sealed the original hole. I run a good Uni in the box. This cheap easy mod will really wake up an Engine with so much better air flow so be warned, REJET!

Gary



I like the dual with the hoses up to the top look


But urs looks good too
And probably way cheaper


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:10 am
Posts: 3455
Location: Carson City NV
The big plus on running the hoses up top is that it gets the intake out of the debris thrown up around the Engine compartment.

Rand


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
45 min to 1 hr use after clean and reoil


Attachments:
File comment: K&n shit
IMAG2181.jpg
IMAG2181.jpg [ 43.05 KiB | Viewed 568 times ]
File comment: Mount
IMAG2182.jpg
IMAG2182.jpg [ 20.92 KiB | Viewed 568 times ]
File comment: The reason why k&n sucks ballz
IMAG2183.jpg
IMAG2183.jpg [ 54.72 KiB | Viewed 568 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
Just bought an air box from ridindirty ,the k&n filters ,vac hose , and the muffler pipe


Who makes the best foam filter for the air box?

Twin air ? Uni?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:10 am
Posts: 3455
Location: Carson City NV
Unless I'm blind in one eye and can't see out of the other, it doesn't look line twin air makes a filter for an FL350. I have been know to be wrong in the past but only once and she has never let me forget it! LOL :shock:

UNI is tried and proven to work excellent. I actually cleaned one this evening!

Rand


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
Randman wrote:
Unless I'm blind in one eye and can't see out of the other, it doesn't look line twin air makes a filter for an FL350. I have been know to be wrong in the past but only once and she has never let me forget it! LOL :shock:

UNI is tried and proven to work excellent. I actually cleaned one this evening!

Rand




Ok that's what I thought

What did u guys glue the PVC to the box with ? Plastic weld?

I almost have all the stuff except fot the filters

I have an box here that I can start on I just didn't want to cut into this one till I had another one for my other odyssey that I want to keep stock other than the dg pipe


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:10 am
Posts: 3455
Location: Carson City NV
B S wrote:
Randman wrote:
Unless I'm blind in one eye and can't see out of the other, it doesn't look line twin air makes a filter for an FL350. I have been know to be wrong in the past but only once and she has never let me forget it! LOL :shock:

UNI is tried and proven to work excellent. I actually cleaned one this evening!

Rand




Ok that's what I thought

What did u guys glue the PVC to the box with ? Plastic weld?

I almost have all the stuff except fot the filters

I have an box here that I can start on I just didn't want to cut into this one till I had another one for my other odyssey that I want to keep stock other than the dg pipe


The fitting fixed to the air box is held on by a nut on the back side. The elbow is then glued to the fitting.

Rand


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 3:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:35 am
Posts: 2010
Location: Ottawa, IL
I just used silicone to hold the elbow in mine. (felt like the silicone homo) Works fine. I don't like the way it looks though. Will be starting over and doing a whole new airbox setup. My plan for the replacement is a Uni in the stock bottom, remove the deflector, and add another hole and a Uni filter to the top of the lid. I've got this sitting on the bench in the garage. I think it will look nice and clean. This will allow me to run the stock snorkel box without having to modify it. I like what Nukem did to his. Its very similar but with only one Uni pre filter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:38 pm
Posts: 1434
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
B S wrote:
Randman wrote:
Unless I'm blind in one eye and can't see out of the other, it doesn't look line twin air makes a filter for an FL350. I have been know to be wrong in the past but only once and she has never let me forget it! LOL :shock:

UNI is tried and proven to work excellent. I actually cleaned one this evening!

Rand






What did u guys glue the PVC to the box with ? Plastic weld?


The fitting I used has a nut on the inside of the air box to secure it. I just used a little bit a silicone to make sure it was air tight around the fitting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Posts: 2156
I can post more info n pics if you want to see other options.

This is what I love about this board, you can see what others have done making mods then tweek em to what you have or need. Lots of great ideas done here. I need to put all the goofy mods I have done to my 350s over the last 15 years n put em in my "Nuke Em" section, then you guys can can improve on them or have suggestions. I made tilt seats, air box mods, brake lights, nerfs, bumpers, lighting, limiting straps, fuel gage, skid plates, clutching, intake mods,etc etc etc.

Gary


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
Nuke Em wrote:
I can post more info n pics if you want to see other options.

This is what I love about this board, you can see what others have done making mods then tweek em to what you have or need. Lots of great ideas done here. I need to put all the goofy mods I have done to my 350s over the last 15 years n put em in my "Nuke Em" section, then you guys can can improve on them or have suggestions. I made tilt seats, air box mods, brake lights, nerfs, bumpers, lighting, limiting straps, fuel gage, skid plates, clutching, intake mods,etc etc etc.

Gary


Go ahead


The more the marrier

I would love to see the fuel tank gage
U ever make ur own nerf bars ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Posts: 2156
I will when I get a chance later.

I have 3 different styles of nerfs. Elitespecialkid (Mark) has an uncle that is a welder by trade and is going to make several sets for us and is using one set as a model. I have a tube bender n welder and probably could but he does this kind of stuff for a living. we will post pics when I get em back.

As far as my gage setup, its more of a low level sensor that turns on with about 1/4 tank left. I like it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
I found the adapter I was looking for
Image
Image

The inside was too restrictive and the nut wouldn't bottem out so off to the lathe

[/IMG%20Image



No more lip

Image


Done
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
Should I cut out the baffle or not
Image


Is the lid on the right a pilot lid ?
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:38 pm
Posts: 1434
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
I did but in hind sight wouldn't do it again. That shield keeps water from hitting the filter so that is a good thing.

Those are both FL350 lids, although that is the first one I have seen with that warning on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
rarerat wrote:
I did but in hind sight wouldn't do it again. That shield keeps water from hitting the filter so that is a good thing.

Those are both FL350 lids, although that is the first one I have seen with that warning on it.


I thought the fl350 olny came with breathers in the lid ?

What one should I run?

I'm thinking the one with out holes in it just in case I might go threw mud or light water at times


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:38 pm
Posts: 1434
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
someone added those breathers to the first lid, no 350 ody came with those from the factory. I would use the second lid.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
I always thought they came with them from the factory


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:38 pm
Posts: 1434
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
B S wrote:
I always thought they came with them from the factory


No sir, i forget the name of the company that sold them, but they are not factory.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 11:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm
Posts: 3253
Location: CHICO,CA
It's uni if I Rember


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Registered users: Akpilot, bennett24, Bing [Bot], crowe5, Danno, Dave-Co, Google [Bot], halorising, hoser, Kangaru, Mobtech_Photo, nitrosport_5, oddozzie, Pilot bird, PilotLoG0403, Pro-Pilot-Popper, Romain french, Seawasp75, ucmeagain, wyeeoddy, Yahoo [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group